Entry guidelines

The entry system will open from 18 December 2018 until 0900 (GMT) on Monday 4 February. Please click ENTER NOW at the top of this page and select the category you wish to enter. 

  • Entry is free

  • Entries must be submitted in English.

  • The judges will be looking for outstanding examples of best practice during the 2018 calendar year.

    *We will accept submissions based on projects, initiatives or endeavours that commenced prior to 2018, provided that core achievements have taken place during this main period of focus. 
  • All entries must be submitted online from this website

  • You must register with us in order to enter our awards. Once registered, your details will be retained on the site whenever you are logged in, and consequently you will not be required to re-enter them when making additional submissions. (Your details will not be shared with any third party, and will only be used by us for awards-related communications.)

  • When logged in, entries can be drafted and redrafted as many times as you wish – just click ‘SAVE’ any time you would like to exit an incomplete submission. When finalised, please click the ‘SUBMIT’ button.

  • The judges will be looking for a good story, well told, and backed up with solid metrics where applicable.

  • Submissions should consist of up to 500 words of text specifically addressing the key criteria set out for the relevant category. You may also attach up to three sets of materials supporting and expanding on aspects of your 500 word text. Supporting documentation should be no more than six sides of A4 in total (entries may be printed out during shortlisting and final judging).

    *Please see below for more details on the supporting material requirements.
  • If you wish to submit tables, they should be included within your supporting materials rather than as part of the submission text. 

  • You may enter as many categories as you wish, but you must complete a different submission for each one.

    *No submission should be entered in more than one category. Please choose the most appropriate single category for your entry. If you would like advice on which category to choose, please contact david.suter@timeshighereducation.com 
  • You may also submit more than one entry per category where projects or initiatives are distinctive and unrelated. Otherwise we advise you to combine the best elements of each in a stronger single entry.

  • You may enter a project that has been undertaken in collaboration with an external public or private partner, but the award will be given to the winning higher education institution.

  • If your entry relates to an initiative or project carried out in collaboration with other institutions, the submission should come from the lead institution. In such cases, please enter “<lead institution> in collaboration with <name> University” or, in cases where the institutions are working under a collective banner or project name, “<project name (the universities of x, y and z)>”, in the ‘Institution‘ field on the entry form, and we will credit all institutions if shortlisted. 

  • If there is no lead institution in a collaborative project, to avoid multiple entries focusing on the same project, please agree who will make the submission on behalf of the partnership, and enter “<institution a> and <institution b> in the ‘Institution’ field.

  • Entries can be completed by those working at institutions, or external organisations working on an institution’s instruction. If you are entering on behalf of an institution, please ensure that you supply an institutional contact as well as your own.

  • If you are an individual considering submitting an entry, we ask that you let senior management and your university’s marketing team know that you are doing so (no formal letter of approval is required by THE). 

  • The shortlist will be published on 20 February 2019, with the winners being announced at a gala awards ceremony during our 2019 Asia Universities Summit, taking place at Khalifa University in Abu Dhabi from 30 April-2 May 2019.  

Supporting material 

Documents should be in PDF or Word doc format.

  • Up to three sets of supporting documents may be submitted, but in total they should comprise no more than six sides of A4.

  • Supporting materials may include photographs, tables, graphs, documents containing statistics, testimonials, supporting research, evaluation or inspection reports, promotional materials and media coverage (PowerPoint and video files will not be accepted; however, you may submit screen shots).

Any information submitted outside these guidelines will not be considered as part of the submission. 

Preparing your entry

  • Please review the specific category criteria carefully.

  • Ensure that your submission contains sufficient robust information. Please include relevant facts and figures where possible. Some categories may ask you to include details of a particular initiative or initiatives; please select those that best promote your expertise.

  • As well as completing the ‘Institution’ field on the application form, where applicable please ensure that you also enter the specific team or project in the ‘Nominee’ field.

If you are shortlisted, we will send out a notification email. Should you receive this email, please check the ID number against the one you received in the email acknowledging receipt of your original entry, as it is possible that your institution has submitted more than one entry in a single category.  

The contact details you provide in your entry form will be used by us throughout the awards process. Consequently this will be the person who receives acknowledgement of submission, notification of shortlisting, and marketing materials in the event of you being shortlisted and winning. 

If you would like to change your main point of contact at any time during the process, please send your new contact information by email to David Suter (david.suter@timeshighereducation.com). 

Please contact David Suter (david.suter@timeshighereducation.com) if you have any questions about these awards, including those on eligibility or the category criteria.