THE Awards Asia 2022

"Universities have never been more needed than they are now. That’s not a new sentiment, but it’s worth restating. As the world works to recover from the Covid pandemic’s devastating impact, the countries that will be most successful in restoring the health of their populations, their economies and their wider societies will find accomplished guides to new and better futures in our higher education institutions.

This is the fourth year for the THE Awards Asia, which have already showcased many wonderful examples of universities doing what they do best: adapting brilliantly to novel challenges. Throughout, their core missions remain the same: cultivating new ideas; helping students grow into productive and engaged citizens; working collaboratively to tackle problems locally, nationally and internationally; and contributing to efforts to build strong and resilient societies in which people can flourish. There is no shortage of challenges, and geopolitical uncertainties threaten more upheaval, but the evidence in this brochure attests that Asia’s universities are equipped with the vision, resources and will to rise to any task.

I’d like to thank the judges this year, and particularly our esteemed external panel for bringing their talents to the process. With their experience and critical insight, they rigorously assessed nearly 500 entries – a mammoth undertaking leavened by the delight of discovering such a wealth of quality and innovation. The stories that follow are the cream of the crop. We found them fascinating and inspiring, and we hope you do as well."

– Phil Baty, chief knowledge officer, THE

The winners were announced on 31 May 2022.

Below are the shortlisted entries, and here you will find an e-book profiling all the winners .

You can also see posters created by the finalists themselves in this gallery .

Winners and shortlisted institutions can find downloadable assets on this page to promote their success.

Watch the full ceremony

Leadership and Management Team of the Year

University of Basrah

Fujita Health University

Nanyang Technological University, Singapore (winner)

National University of Sciences and Technology (NUST)

National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University

Prince Sultan University

Seoul National University

Zhejiang University

Excellence and Innovation in the Arts

Universitas Airlangga

University of Basrah

Lahore University of Management Sciences (LUMS) (winner)

Lasalle College of the Arts

Shoolini University of Biotechnology and Management Sciences

Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM)

Telkom University

Vishwakarma University

International Strategy of the Year

Hiroshima University

University of International Business and Economics (UIBE), School of International Development and Cooperation (SIDC)

Izmir Institute of Technology (winner)

Universiti Malaysia Sarawak (UNIMAS)

Prince of Songkla University

Shanghai University

Singapore Management University (SMU)

Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman (UTAR)

Outstanding Support for Students

Chulalongkorn University

City University of Hong Kong

Indira Gandhi Delhi Technical University for Women

Universiti Malaysia Perlis (UniMAP)

Seoul National University

Shoolini University of Biotechnology and Management Sciences (highly commended)

Taylor’s University (winner)

Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman (UTAR)

Student Recruitment Campaign of the Year

Amity University Online (winner)

FPT University

Izmir Institute of Technology

Krirk University

Lahore University of Management Sciences (LUMS)

Lingnan University

Shanghai University

University of Tsukuba

Teaching and Learning Strategy of the Year

City University of Hong Kong

Hong Kong Polytechnic University (winner)

Kalinga Institute of Industrial Technology

Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

National University of Singapore

University of Nottingham, Ningbo

O.P. Jindal Global University, Jindal Institute of Behavioural Sciences

Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM)

Technological or Digital Innovation of the Year

Burapha University (winner)

Central Luzon State University

Chitkara University

Chulalongkorn University

University of Hong Kong

Universiti Malaysia Perlis (UniMAP)

National University of Singapore

Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman (UTAR)

Workplace of the Year

King Faisal University

Lasalle College of the Arts

Universiti Malaysia Sarawak (UNIMAS)

National Dong Hwa University

O.P. Jindal Global University

Prince Sultan University

Seoul National University (winner)

Shanghai University

THE DataPoints Research Improvement Award

Ajou University

Central South University

Savitribai Phule Pune University (winner)

Sejong University

University of Sharjah

Taipei Medical University

Thapar Institute of Engineering and Technology

Wuhan University

THE DataPoints Impact Award

Diponegoro University (winner)

University of Indonesia

Institut Teknologi Sepuluh Nopember

Iran University of Medical Sciences

King Mongkut’s Institute of Technology Ladkrabang

Kuwait University

National Changhua University of Education

Padjadjaran University

Join our mailing list and be the first to hear about the latest event news and updates. You can unsubscribe at any time.