THE Awards Asia 2019

"Universities are extraordinary institutions that transform the life chances of their students, produce research that changes the world, and deliver untold benefits to society and economies. This is true wherever in the world they happen to be, and THE is proud to have played an integral role in recognising, supporting and incentivising excellence for five decades.

One of the ways we do this is through the THE Awards, which spotlight truly exceptional achievements of universities, teams and individuals in some of their most critical areas of focus, holding them up as beacons of best practice.

This year, we are delighted to be in Abu Dhabi to launch the inaugural THE Awards Asia, which attracted entries from across the continent in five fiercely fought categories. The winners include institutions from China, Singapore, Iraq, South Korea and the Philippines; they include names that will be known to all as among the best in the world, and others that have performed near-miracles in times of great hardship.

All are worthy winners, and it is THE’s great honour to be able to shine a light on their achievements – our congratulations to all who made it on to the shortlists, and our sincere thanks for everything you do."

– John Gill, editor, THE

The winners were announced on 1 May 2019, view the photos of the ceremony in our Flick album .

Below are the shortlisted and winning entries, and here you will find an e-book profiling all the winners .

Watch the highlights video

International Strategy of the Year

Sponsored by HSBC

Istanbul Gelişim University

National University of Singapore

O.P Jindal Global University

Southern University of Science and Technology

Tianjin University

Tokyo City University

Wenzhou Medical University

Zhejiang University (winner)

Leadership and Management Team of the Year

Sponsored by Elsevier

Government College University Lahore

Gulf Medical University

Khalifa University of Science and Technology

National Dong Hwa University

National University of Singapore (winner)

O.P. Jindal Global University

Southern University of Science and Technology

Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia

Outstanding Support for Students

Sponsored by Eon Reality

Chinese University of Hong Kong

University of Kirkuk (winner)

Koç University

Universiti Malaysia Sarawa

NUS Business School

Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology Graduate University

Ozyegin University

Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman

Teaching and Learning Strategy of the Year

Sponsored by Advance HE

An-An-Najah National University, in collaboration with university partners

City University of Hong Kong

Management & Science University

Mapúa University

National Taipei University of Education

RMIT University Vietnam

Tokyo University of Science Yonsei University (winner)

Technological Innovation of the Year

Sponsored by Flywire

Asian Institute of Management (winner)

Assam Don Bosco University

Gulf Medical University

Universiti Malaysia Sarawak

Xi'an Jiaotong University

Yonsei University

Join our mailing list and be the first to hear about the latest event news and updates. You can unsubscribe at any time.