THE Awards Asia 2021

"THE Awards Asia, now in their third year, explore up close the life-changing work done by universities in one of the most diverse and dynamic regions on the planet. It goes without saying that highly ranked, internationally renowned institutions feature on this roster, but they have no monopoly on exceptional achievements. These awards also call attention to institutions working beneath the radar that have been performing near miracles in extremely challenging circumstances.

Universities are full of brilliant, innovative thinkers working across academia, administration and at all levels of leadership and management, and if proof is needed, you will find it here. Those featured have ensured that higher education has continued to thrive and deliver over the past 18 turbulent months, and we know that they will also be central to the recovery and future development of societies and economies. We hope you find their stories informative and inspirational."

– Phil Baty, chief knowledge officer, THE

The winners were announced during a virtual ceremony on 14 December 2021.

Below are the shortlists and winning entries, and here you will find an e-book profiling all the winners.

Watch the full virtual ceremony

Excellence and Innovation in the Arts

University of Basrah

Beijing Normal University, Academy for International Communication of Chinese Culture

Communication University of Zhejiang

Hamad Bin Khalifa University

Hong Kong Baptist University (winner)

Nakhon Ratchasima Rajabhat University

The Tianjin Juilliard School in collaboration with Diller Scofidio + Renfro

Wenzhou University

International Strategy of the Year

Birzeit University

Chinese University of Hong Kong (highly commended)

Chitkara University

Hangzhou Dianzi University (winner)

King Faisal University

Krirk University

Shanghai University

Southern University of Science and Technology

Outstanding Support for Students

Airlangga University

Chulalongkorn University

Hong Kong Baptist University

Mabalacat City College

Universiti Malaysia Perlis (UniMAP)

Nakhon Ratchasima Rajabhat University

Nanyang Technological University

Universiti Teknologi Petronas (winner)

Student Recruitment Campaign of the Year

Almaarefa University

Almaty Management University

Hanoi University of Science and Technology (winner)

Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

O.P. Jindal Global University

Shanghai University

Shoolini University of Biotechnology and Management Sciences (highly commended)

Tzu Chi University

Teaching and Learning Strategy of the Year

Airlangga University

City University of Hong Kong

Gulf Medical University

Lahore University of Management Sciences

Universiti Malaysia Sarawak (UNIMAS), Centre for Applied Learning and Multimedia (highly commended)

University of Management and Technology

National Sun Yat-Sen University

National University of Singapore (winner)

Technological or Digital Innovation of the Year

Hong Kong Baptist University

Mabalacat City College

University of Malakand

National University of Singapore

National Yunlin University of Science and Technology

O.P. Jindal Global University (winner)

Soochow University

Yonsei University

THE DataPoints Improved Performance Award

Central South University

Guangxi University

Imam Abdulrahman Bin Faisal University

University of Jordan

Kansai Medical University

Kwansei Gakuin University

Thapar Institute of Engineering and Technology

Universiti Utara Malaysia (winner)

THE DataPoints Social Impact Award

Abdullah Gül University

Hanyang University

Hiroshima University

Institut Teknologi Sepuluh Nopember (winner)

Kyungpook National University

Mahidol University

National Changhua University of Education

Princess Nourah bint Abdulrahman University

Universiti Sains Malaysia

Workplace of the Year

Amity University Uttar Pradesh

Diponegoro University

University of Faisalabad

King Faisal University

Nanyang Technological University Singapore, Legal and Secretarial Office

National Dong Hwa University

O.P. Jindal Global University

Saint Joseph University of Beirut (winner)

Leadership and Management Team of the Year

An-Najah National University

Chulalongkorn University

Diponegoro University

Fujita Health University

Islamic University of Lebanon

Kalinga Institute of Industrial Technology (KIIT) (winner)

Lasalle College of the Arts

Universiti Malaysia Sarawak (UNIMAS)

Join our mailing list and be the first to hear about the latest event news and updates. You can unsubscribe at any time.